Brownstown Township INBrownstown Township is one of twelve townships in Jackson County, Indiana, United States.  As of the 2010 census, its population was 5,552 and it contained 2,308 housing units.  Geography:  According to the 2010 census, the township has a total area of 63.62 square miles , of which 62.72 square miles (or 98.59%) is land and 0.9 square miles  (or 1.41%) is water.  History: Brownstown Township was organized Feb. 10, 1817,  and took its name from Brownstown, the county seat.   The streams of Ballard Creek, Hough Creek, Kiper Creek, Spray Creek, West Branch White Creek and White Creek run through this township.  Cities and towns:  Brownstown (the county seat).  Unincorporated towns:  Ewing, New Elizabethtown, Wegan  The township contains these cemeteries: Burrell, Durland, First German Presbyterian, Miller, Old Town, Robertson, Saint Paul’s, Smallwood, Wayman, Weathers and Woodmansee.

Our Township Board members are Conner Barnette: Chairman , Jack Gillespie: Secretary and Helen Nolting.  Our Trustee is Jennifer Isaacs.
The Township office mailing address is  419 South Main Street, Brownstown, IN 47220. The office phone number is 812-358-4451. The Trustee’s email is:
The office is open each week from 1:00 pm to 5:00 pm on Monday, 10;00am to2:00pm on Wednesday, and 1:00pm to 2:00 on Friday.  Please make an appointment due to the current pandemic.