Brownstown Township INBrownstown Township is one of twelve townships in Jackson County, Indiana, United States.  As of the 2010 census, its population was 5,552 and it contained 2,308 housing units.  Geography:  According to the 2010 census, the township has a total area of 63.62 square miles , of which 62.72 square miles (or 98.59%) is land and 0.9 square miles  (or 1.41%) is water.  History: Brownstown Township was organized Feb. 10, 1817,  and took its name from Brownstown, the county seat.   The streams of Ballard Creek, Hough Creek, Kiper Creek, Spray Creek, West Branch White Creek and White Creek run through this township. The only town in the township is Brownstown (the county seat).  Unincorporated towns are:  Ewing, New Elizabethtown, and Wegan.  The following cemeteries are in the township: Beem, Old Brownstown, Burrell, Douglas/Durland, Ewing Fairview, Findley, Hamilton, First German Presbyterian, Miller, Robertson Family, Smallwood, Saint Paul’s Lutheran (Wegan Old & New), Saint Peter’s Lutheran Brownstown), Wayman/Pleasant Grove, Weathers and Woodmansee.

Our Township Board members are Conner Barnette, Chairman, Helen Nolting, Secretary, and Chad Sommers.  Our Trustee is Melanie Pottschmidt.
The Township office mailing address is 305 South Ewing Street, Brownstown, IN 47220. The office phone number is 812-358-4451. The Trustee’s email is:
The office is open each week from 12:00 pm to 5:00 pm on Monday and 10:00 am to 2:00 pm on Wednesday.